The Blog

What do the different types of apprenticeship mean?

Apprenticeships are a great option for 16-24 year olds who would prefer to earn money whilst they get their qualifications and gain experience in a real working environment.


Apprenticeships come in all shapes and sizes.

You can do an apprenticeship in a huge range of industries. It’s not just the stereotypical manual apprenticeships like plumbing, electrical, or construction and engineering (although apprenticeships are a very effective way of entering these industries). Apprenticeships can be done in marketing, law, agriculture, media, the Arts, travel and tourism, and so much more. Apprenticeships also provide a range of qualifications to those who choose them as a route to employment.


Here’s a detailed guide to the different types of apprenticeships you can study at Lincoln College.


Intermediate Apprenticeships

This is equivalent to five good GCSE passes. Level 2 (Intermediate Apprenticeships) can include GCSEs grades A*–C, BTEC First Diplomas and Certificates, OCR Nationals, Key Skills Level 2 and NVQs at Level 2. They also allow entry to an Advanced Apprenticeship.


Advanced Apprenticeships

An Advanced Apprenticeship is equivalent to two A-level passes. Level 3 (Advanced Apprenticeships) can include A Levels, Advanced Extension Awards, GCE in applied subjects, International Baccalaureates, Key Skills Level 3, NVQs at Level 3, BTEC Diplomas, Certificates and Awards, BTEC Nationals and OCR Nationals. To apply, you need five GCSEs at grade C or above or a completed Intermediate Apprenticeship.


Higher Apprenticeships

Higher Apprenticeships give you the chance to get a degree-level qualification, whilst gaining practical work experience in your chosen industry and earning a salary. With a Higher Apprenticeship you can study any higher education qualification, including Foundation Degrees, NVQ Levels 4 and 5, HNCs and HNDs.


To apply for apprenticeships, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *